Home > Encouragement, Lust of the eyes, Sin > Dairy of a recovering addict – Jesus my strength

Dairy of a recovering addict – Jesus my strength


On the journey to recovery, we meet every Tuesday at Nairobi West from 6.30pm – 8.30pm for the sexual addicts accountability group.

Most people think that recovering from an addiction is just a snap of the finger away. Well, I hate to burst your bubble, but recovering from an addiction, as I have realized, is one of the hardest battles one has to go through. In fact, to make it worse, it is a battle within which can lead anyone in their right senses crazy.

My recovery journey has been a 3 year journey of ups and downs from Jan 2010. One thing that has helped me is that I can run to God in confession and repentance and he can forgive me. I was however taught that repentance is turning 180 degrees from sin, you have to do this after confessing your sin. I thank God for giving me a good accountability relationship with a group of men, where I can be vulnerable. These guys are tough and have held me up when weak. They hold me accountable to everything I set as an action. I pray that you get such a group, a real group of friends, fearless and principled.

So, be encouraged if you are reading this, God’s grace is sufficient for you. He has the final say on your life. Just surrender to Him and ask for anything from Him in prayer. Remember, sexual sin has not power over you at all. What will it take for you to fight? A lost relationship? Lost job? Brokeness? Broken marriage? Act now man!!!

Image

James 1:12 Blessed is the man who perseveres under trial, because when he has stood the test, he will receive the crown of life that God has promised to those who love him.  You have been given the strength to do all things through Christ. Boast in Christ alone, boast in the cross as your only strength. This is a daily fight, wake up each morning and wear the full armor of God in prayer. If this life has anything to gain at all, I would count it all lost if I can’t hear my savior my strength. This is my solemn prayer for myself as well as you.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

